Comments Off on How the 2010 Formula One title was won

How the 2010 Formula One title was won

The 2010 Formula One season was one of the most gripping in the sport’s long history. It went down to the wire, with four drivers in with a chance of winning the championship going into the final race of the season in Abu Dhabi.

imageIt was a topsy-turvy year for Formula One, in which no one driver was able to assert himself and dominate convincingly.

Sebastian Vettel, the eventual winner, had not led the championship for the entire season until after the last race, when it mattered most.

Here, we take a look back at some of the key races and pivotal moments in the 2010 Formula One season to see how Sebastian Vettel became the youngest world champion in history.

Vettel made the early running

The season curtain-raiser in Bahrain in March gave an early indication that Red Bull and, in particular, Sebastian Vettel, meant business in 2010. From pole position, Vettel made the early running and led the Grand Prix until a problem flared up with a sparkplug that ultimately cost him the race and a place on the podium. Fernando Alonso was the beneficiary of Vettel’s misfortune and won the race ahead of team-mate Felipe Massa, who finished second. Vettel had to settle for fourth spot behind the two Ferraris and Lewis Hamilton.

A fortnight later Vettel secured his second pole of the season, but he encountered problems with his car once again and was forced out of the race as Jenson Button took the chequered flag in Melbourne ahead of Renault’s Robert Kubica.

Third time lucky

It proved to be third time lucky for Vettel, as he eventually won his first Grand Prix of the season in Malaysia from a starting place of third on the grid. Team-mate Marc Webber came in second having been in pole on the grid.

Vettel had to wait another six races before he won his second Grand Prix, with Jenson Button victorious in China before Webber won two in a row and 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton got in on the action, securing successive victories in Turkey and Canada, which put him at the top of the pile after eight races.

At this stage, the season was threatening to turn into a cosy battle between Button and Hamilton after successive top two finishes for the McLaren drivers, although Vettel had collected points in all but one of the five Grands Prix since his last triumph, including two podium finishes.

Vettel back on track

The tension was mounting in the Red Bull camp with Webber’s success rocking the boat but Vettel got back on track with a second season win at the European Grand Prix. The young German won the race by five seconds from second-placed Hamilton, while Webber crashed out in spectacular fashion after just eight laps.

At Silverstone, for the British Grand Prix, Webber returned to winning ways coming from second on the grid to take the race, with Lewis Hamilton again finishing second. Vettel, who’d secured pole position, had to settle for seventh place.

At this stage of the season Fernando Alonso and his Ferrari were off the pace, having not won since the opening race of the season and with only three podium finishes in the first 10 races. But things were about to change; Alonso finished in the top three in seven of the next eight races and he won four of them. The incredible sequence of results kicked off with an Alonso victory in Germany courtesy of his team-mate Felipe Massa’s generosity in allowing him to pass.

Rivals slipped up

Spaniard Alonso had to wait for his next win, as Webber won in Hungary and Hamilton finished first in the Belgian Grand Prix, but he was victorious again at Monza, where his title rivals all slipped up to varying degrees.

Alonso followed his victory in Italy with another win, this time in Singapore, where he just managed to keep Vettel at bay. Webber was also on the podium in Singapore, coming in third, but he was way off the pace of the front two. At this stage of the season, the title looked like it would be down to a straight fight between the in-form Alonso and Webber, but things were about to change.

Sebastian Vettel excelled in Japan and, in winning that Grand Prix, set in motion an amazing end to the season that saw him finish first in three of the last four races. Vettel was out of the points in the next race, as Alonso won Korea’s first Grand Prix after Webber crashed out of the race. Alonso’s victory and Webber’s lack of points meant the Spaniard took over the championship lead from the Australian with just two races left in the season.

First time in history

The penultimate race of season took the Formula One juggernaut to Brazil, where all the title contenders finished in the top five. Vettel won, Webber came second, Alonso third, Hamilton fourth and Jenson Button’s title hopes came to an end with a fifth place finish. The results in Brazil meant that for the first time in Formula One history, four different drivers were in with a shot at the title going into the final race.

From pole position on the grid, Sebastian Vettel dominated to win the final race in Abu Dhabi and, of his three title rivals, only Hamilton finished on the podium. With Fernando Alonso only managing a seventh place finish after starting in third on the grid and Mark Webber one place behind him in eighth, Vettel found himself top of the championship table for the first time in the season. With a total of 256 points, Vettel finished with four more points than Fernando Alonso and consequently was crowned as Formula One’s youngest-ever world champion.

Filed in: Sports

Share This Post

Recent Posts

© 0886 Daily-Tips.Net. All rights reserved.